Sources of Gluten

cb436cbf0b27b598cadf881c3109b207 (1)

 Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley and oats that were contaminated with wheat in processing.  It’s easy to recognize gluten is foods like bread, pasta and pastries, but it can be much harder to find it in other products Let’s dive in and talk about these seven hidden sources of gluten:
  1.   Soy Sauce – Unless a soy sauce is labeled gluten free, wheat is typically the first ingredient.  Outside the US, some soy sauces even contain barley.  Make sure check the label before using soy sauce.

    2. Barbeque Sauce – Distilled vinegar in BBQ can cause a reaction for some Celiacs if it is made from wheat. Check the ingredient label on your favorite brands to see if it is gluten free.  If it does contain distilled vinegar, take the extra step and call the company to see if it was made from gluten free ingredients.

    4. Candy – Gluten ingredients are used to make many different types of candy.  Every year, the National Foundation of Celiac Awareness posts a list of gluten-free candy.  However, companies can change their recipes at any time.  Take a moment to confirm the candy is gluten free before purchasing.

    5. Cosmetics – Gluten is commonly found in cosmetics.  It is often found in lipstick and mascara.  Several companies have recognized the importance of gluten free cosmetics like Afterglow and Red Apple Lipstick.

    6. Hair Products – Shampoos, conditioners and other hair products often contain gluten.  Some common ingredients in hair products that contain gluten are: Triticum vulgare (wheat), Hordeum vulgare (barley), Secale cereale (rye), wheat germ oil, Hydrolyzed wheat protein and more.

    7. Pet Food – If you’ve eliminated all gluten from your diet, but are still getting sick, then Fido may be to blame for your continued glutening.  Pet food is known to contain fillers like corn, gluten and other grains.  Whether you have a cat, dog or some fish, their food could be causing you pain having to do 50% water changes

    This is not an exhaustive list of hidden sources of gluten, but it is a great start for those new to a gluten free diet. Now there’s one more important note for you to consider.  Companies can change their recipes and ingredients at any time.  Always check the label for these changes before purchasing the product.

    Protect yourself

    Murph

    ChefMurph.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.